Select Page

Blackpool Family Holiday Packages

Last updated September 2026

Blackpool Pleasure Beach’s ticketing now includes a genuinely different option – a spectator-only Flex Pass alongside the traditional unlimited wristband – and picking the wrong one for your family is an easy way to overpay or end up with no ride access at all. This guide sorts the tickets out properly first, then compares the real ways to structure where you stay and what a trip actually costs.

Short Answer: Which Ticket Do You Actually Need?

Short answer: if anyone in your family wants to ride anything, you need the All You Can Ride eTicket or the Nickelodeon eTicket – the Flex Pass carries no ride access at all and is built for spectators and non-riders only, not a cheaper way to ride fewer attractions.

Getting this wrong is an easy, avoidable mistake: the Flex Pass looks like a budget option on price alone, but it will not get anyone onto a ride.

The Ticket Types, Explained Properly

Short answer: All You Can Ride gives unlimited access to the whole park; the Nickelodeon eTicket covers Nickelodeon Land only; the Flex Pass is entry with no ride access whatsoever, intended for spectators and people accompanying riders.

Ticket

Best for

Ride access

Price

All You Can Ride eTicket

Riders wanting the full park

Unlimited rides, park-wide

From £30

Nickelodeon eTicket

Younger children, Nickelodeon Land only

Unlimited within Nickelodeon Land

From £25

Flex Pass

Non-riders / spectators

No ride access

£18

Per Blackpool Pleasure Beach’s own current pricing, the Flex Pass is described in the park’s own terms as “park entry with no rides, ideal for spectators and food lovers” – it covers park admission, dining areas and watching shows, and nothing more. It is not a pay-per-ride product and does not include any ride credits.

The £30 and £25 figures above are advance, before-6am prices; same-day purchases after 6am on your visit date revert to full gate rates. The official pricing page doesn’t publish separate adult and child rates for these tickets, and prices are date-dependent – confirm the exact figure for your specific visit date before booking. Under-2s go free on select family-friendly rides with adult supervision.

Our Quick Verdict, at a Glance

  • Mostly riding → All You Can Ride eTicket
  • Young children, focused on Nickelodeon Land → Nickelodeon eTicket
  • A non-riding adult accompanying the family → Flex Pass
  • Want maximum convenience, willing to pay for it → Big Blue Hotel, on-site at Pleasure Beach Resort
  • Want holiday-park facilities (pool, entertainment) → A Haven park nearby
  • Want maximum flexibility on cost → Self-catering or B&B, tickets bought separately
blackpool pleasure beach tickets

Step 1: Choose How You’ll Stay

Short answer: decide where to stay first, since that choice affects how convenient (and how bundled) your ticket options are – then pick the right ticket type from the section above.

Stay type

Best for

Why

Big Blue Hotel (on-site)

Maximum convenience

Walkable into Pleasure Beach Resort, with tickets and some meals bundled into the package

Haven holiday park nearby

A full holiday-park experience

Indoor pool, lazy river and on-park entertainment that Pleasure Beach tickets don’t include

B&B / self-catering

Lowest cost, most flexibility

Choose your own accommodation and buy exactly the ticket type your family needs, separately

On-site at Pleasure Beach Resort: the Big Blue Hotel, located within the resort itself, bundles accommodation with park access. Its Family Adventure Package is advertised from £600 for 3 nights (2 adults, up to 3 children), including nightly dinners, breakfasts, one day’s Pleasure Beach tickets, an adventure golf round and Ripley’s admission; the operator’s page states this is valid on selected dates between March and November rather than a fixed date range.

A shorter “Stay & Ride” break is advertised from £399 for 2 nights (bed and breakfast plus a day ticket), or £519 with dinner included (“Stay, Dine & Ride”).

A Haven holiday park nearby: Cala Gran and Marton Mere, Haven’s two Blackpool parks, add an indoor pool with slides, an outdoor lazy river at Marton Mere, and on-park entertainment. Pricing is genuinely date-specific – see the dated example below.

Self-catering or B&B, tickets bought separately: the most flexible option, letting you match the exact ticket type to your family (per the table above) without it being bundled into a fixed hotel package.

Important – these prices are not like-for-like: Big Blue’s packages bundle meals and a park ticket into the headline price, while Haven’s headline price is primarily accommodation, with tickets and food added separately. Comparing the two numbers directly without accounting for what’s included will give a misleading picture of which is actually cheaper.

Step 2: Choose the Right Ticket

Once you know where you’re staying, match your family to a ticket from the comparison table above. A family staying at a Haven park who’ll spend a full day riding at Pleasure Beach needs the All You Can Ride eTicket bought separately; a family whose on-site Big Blue package already includes a day ticket only needs to think about tickets for any additional days.

A Genuine Dated Example

Short answer: here’s one real, dated price we found rather than just headline “from” figures.

Package

Dates

Nights

Party

Includes

Price

Haven (Blackpool park)

Mon 7–Fri 11 Sep 2026

4

Not specified by Haven

Accommodation only

From £109

Haven (Blackpool park)

8–11 Sep 2026

3

Not specified by Haven

Accommodation only

From £89

Haven (Blackpool park)

11–14 Sep 2026

3

Not specified by Haven

Accommodation only

From £205

Big Blue Hotel

Selected dates, Mar–Nov 2026 (no fixed date published)

3

2 adults + up to 3 children

Hotel, dinners, breakfasts, 1 day Pleasure Beach ticket, adventure golf, Ripley’s

From £600

Haven’s dates above are exactly as published on its own site at the time of checking, September 2026; Big Blue Hotel’s page does not publish a specific date for its Family Adventure Package, only a “selected dates” window. Party size wasn’t specified alongside Haven’s per-break prices. Not live quotes – check current availability for your dates.

Real Cost: A Family of 4, in £

Short answer: a realistic short break for a family of four typically runs from around £350 at the budget end to £650+ for a fuller on-site package – and the figures below are a mix of sourced prices and clearly-labelled planning estimates, not a single verified total.

Approach

Accommodation

Tickets (family of 4)

Food

Approx. total

Budget: Haven park + tickets separately

Sourced: from £89 (3 nights, per Haven’s own site)

Estimated: ~£100–120 (4x All You Can Ride at £30 advance rate; official site doesn’t break out child pricing)

Estimated: ~£150

Calculated: ~£350–400

Typical: Haven park + a full Pleasure Beach day

Sourced: from £109–205 (per Haven’s own dated examples above)

Estimated: ~£100–120

Estimated: ~£200

Calculated: ~£450–520

On-site: Big Blue’s “Stay & Ride”

Sourced: from £399 (2 nights, ticket included)

Included in package price

Estimated: ~£150

Calculated: ~£550

On-site: Big Blue’s Family Adventure Package

Sourced: from £600 (3 nights, meals + ticket included)

Included in package price

Mostly included

Calculated: ~£600–650

What’s sourced vs estimated: accommodation figures above are the operators’ own advertised prices; ticket figures use Blackpool Pleasure Beach’s own published advance rate, but the site doesn’t publish child pricing separately, so the family total is an estimate built on the adult rate; food is a planning allowance, not a directly sourced figure. Treat every “approx. total” as a calculated estimate, not a quote – actual pricing is date-dependent and should be checked directly for your travel dates and exact party composition.

Matching Attractions to Your Kids’ Ages

Short answer: Nickelodeon Land suits younger children well; the headline coasters have specific height requirements that rule some children out, so check the exact restriction before assuming your child can ride.

Attraction type

Better suited to

Nickelodeon Land

Younger children

Family rides

Mixed ages

The Big One (Pepsi Max Big One)

Riders at least 132cm tall, per the Blackpool Gazette’s ride guide

Other major coasters (including the Big Dipper)

Check the park’s own interactive height checker before you travel – individual restrictions vary by ride and we haven’t been able to confirm every figure independently

blackpool family break cost

The Illuminations: A Genuine Off-Peak Option

Short answer: the 2026 Illuminations are set to run from 4 September 2026 to 3 January 2027, per one industry source we checked – confirm the exact switch-on date with Visit Blackpool’s own site closer to the time, since we could only verify this from a single secondary source.

Four reasons this window is worth genuine consideration as a cost strategy, not just an attraction:

  1. Accommodation potential – pricing outside the summer school holidays tends to ease, per the dated Haven examples above.
  2. Cooler, more comfortable walking weather for exploring the promenade and Illuminations trail.
  3. A strong evening attraction that doesn’t depend on Pleasure Beach being open at all.
  4. Check Pleasure Beach’s own opening dates for this window – the park itself may run reduced hours or a shorter season into autumn and winter, so confirm it’s open on your intended dates if the rides are part of your plan.

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I buy the All You Can Ride ticket, the Nickelodeon ticket, or the Flex Pass? 

All You Can Ride if anyone’s riding across the whole park; the Nickelodeon eTicket if younger children and that zone specifically are the focus; the Flex Pass only if you genuinely don’t plan to ride anything – it carries no ride access at all.

Is Big Blue Hotel worth it for a Blackpool family break? 

It depends what you value – its packages bundle accommodation, some meals and a Pleasure Beach ticket into one price, which suits families who want everything sorted in a single booking. Compare the bundled price against booking a Haven stay and tickets separately for your exact dates before assuming either is automatically better value.

Can I buy Pleasure Beach tickets separately from my hotel? 

Yes – tickets can be bought directly from Blackpool Pleasure Beach regardless of where you’re staying. This is exactly the “self-catering/B&B” route in the comparison above, and gives you full control over which ticket type you buy.

Is it cheaper to stay on-site at Pleasure Beach or at a Haven park nearby? 

Haven can be the lower-cost option when you choose accommodation-only pricing and buy just the tickets your family actually needs, rather than a bundled package – but the two aren’t directly comparable without accounting for what each price includes.

How much does a Blackpool family break actually cost? 

Based on a mix of sourced and estimated figures, realistically somewhere between roughly £350 and £650+ for a family of four over 2-3 nights, depending on the accommodation and ticket approach you choose.

Is Blackpool Pleasure Beach good for young children? 

Yes – Nickelodeon Land is built specifically for younger children, and its own dedicated ticket is a sensible alternative to the full park ticket if that’s where most of your visit will be spent.

When are the Blackpool Illuminations? 

Reportedly 4 September 2026 to 3 January 2027, per one source checked – confirm the exact dates with Visit Blackpool’s own site nearer the time.

Do under-2s need a ticket at Blackpool Pleasure Beach? 

No – under-2s go free on select family-friendly rides with adult supervision, per the park’s own published pricing.

Sources

  • Blackpool Pleasure Beach’s official pricing page – current ticket types, prices and Flex Pass terms (primary source for all ticket facts)
  • Blackpool Pleasure Beach’s height restrictions page – ride height checker
  • Big Blue Hotel’s offers page – on-site package pricing and inclusions
  • Haven’s Blackpool family holidays page – Cala Gran and Marton Mere pricing, including the dated examples used above
  • The Blackpool Gazette’s rollercoaster height restriction guide – The Big One’s height restriction
  • britbrief.co.uk’s 2026 Illuminations coverage – 2026 Illuminations dates (single source, unconfirmed elsewhere)

Verdict

Decide where you’re staying first – on-site convenience with Big Blue, holiday-park facilities with Haven, or maximum flexibility with self-catering – then pick the ticket type that actually matches how your family will use Pleasure Beach, since the Flex Pass’s lack of any ride access makes it the wrong choice for most riding families regardless of its lower price.

Compare bundled and unbundled costs properly rather than reading either headline number at face value, and treat the September–January Illuminations window as a genuine off-peak alternative if avoiding summer’s crowds and pricing matters more than guaranteed ride access at Pleasure Beach itself.

Reviewed against current operator pricing and ticket terms in September 2026 – prices are date-dependent and may change, so always check current terms directly with the operator before booking.